BA(Hons) Sound Design student looking for info/doc on FX :-)

Moderators: Evil James, EvilDeadChainsaws

Drue Johnson

BA(Hons) Sound Design student looking for info/doc on FX :-)

Post by Drue Johnson »

BA(Hons) Sound Design student looking for info/doc on the Sound Effects/Sound Design in Evil Dead 2 :-)

Hay all :-)

My names Drue Johnson and i'm a student at Ravensbourne University London studying a BA(Hons) degree in Sound Design and i'm writing a paper on the importance of sound effects. It's their ability to drive and move a film and its audience through creatively tailor made sounds that strikes me and Evil Dead 2 really does this to a very high standard. The scene where the camera pans along the wall and moves in time to the sound of deep snuffling growling springs to mind, not to mention the sound of "The Evil" itself :-)

It is this kind of interconnection between sound and vision where the 2 become one entity that I personally thoroughly enjoy creating and also experiencing others work within this mind-frame too.

However, i am having a very hard time finding any info on Evil Dead 2s Sound Design so I can only comment on my own perceptions of this sound :-(

So far I have watched:-
The Making of 'Evil Dead II' or The Gore the Merrier
Evil Dead 2 - Behind The Screams
but neither have any info about the sound design at all which is a shame.

I haven't seen Swallowed Souls documentary however because I don't have a blu-ray player but from what I can tell ( http://dailydead.com/new-evil-dead-ii-b ... sed-today/ ) this doesn't cover the sound design either :-/
I find this crazy since Evil Dead 2 has such a rich and wonderful sound-to-image interplay :-/

So I thought i'd ask here if anyone knows of a documentary or a page or paper written by the sound designers (preferably with a link hehe) which talks about the Evil Dead 2 sounds and their creation etc

Anyone have any info?

Thx for your time everyone :-)

Sign:- Drue johnson.
EvilDeadChainsaws
Site Admin